Parents of children have a moral obligation to their child financially and emotionally. The noncustodial parent is usually responsible for all of the child’s needs, even if the parents divorce or separate. Child support laws and calculator were created to provide for the children’s living standards in New Mexico. These laws establish a legal obligation for the noncustodial parent to provide care for the child.
The Process For Child Support After Divorce
Child Support Services are offered in New Mexico by the Child Support Enforcement Division, which is part of the Human Services Department (HSD). Parents who have an existing child support order may apply for wage withholding services, also known as Pass-Through Services.
Full services can be requested by parents without a child support order. The CSED will assist in the search for the noncustodial parents, the employer of the noncustodial parents, and establish paternity. They also collect and enforce child support payments. You can apply for full child support services online. Custodial parents must provide information about themselves, their child, and the noncustodial. The section on the noncustodial parent includes the child’s full name, date of birth and address. These details will help to locate the parent and speed up the process of setting child support. This is because the noncustodial parents must to receive a notice of support before the case can move forward.
Location and Establishment of Paternity
Once the noncustodial parent is located, it’s time to establish paternity. If the parents were married at birth, the father is assumed to be the mother’s husband. If the parents did not marry, they may complete an Acknowledgement Of Paternity. After this, they will include man’s name in the child’s birth certificate. If the paternity or legality of the child is in dispute, the court can order genetic testing. Once the establishment of paternity, they will make the child support order. The $250 fee for the establishment of a child support order is payable. They will get the fee from child support payments of the parent, but it does not apply to families who receive public financial assistance.
The parents can request for a modification to an existing child support order. This can be due to significant income changes or changes in the child’s needs. Parents should make sure that their child support obligations are did not change by more than 20% before they apply for a review. For each modification or review of a child support order, parent need to pay a $150 fee.
How To Receive Child Support
Multiple options are available to custodial parents for child support through the CSED. These include:
- Check: This is an outdated method of receiving child maintenance. The custodial parent receives a check for child support payments. The CSED does not recommend that payments by check because it is not secure.
- Debit Card: Parents have the option to receive child support payments via a prepaid debit credit card. Parents are given a debit card, and the funds will be loaded to it as soon as they become available. You can use the card as a regular debit card, but you may have to pay fees for certain transactions. This card is a safe way to receive child support payments.
- Direct Deposit: This is the last option. This allows child support payments to be deposited into an existing savings account or checking account that has been authorized and approved by the custodial parent. Direct deposit is the fastest and most secure way to receive child support payments. Parents who wish to go with this option can fill the Direct Deposit Authorization Form.
You can find information on how to receive child support payments online.
Online Calculator for Maximum Amount That Your Family Can Receive For Child Support in New York
There is no maximum amount to pay for child support when determining the obligations of the non-custodial parents. The court takes into account several factors, including the net income of each parent, the number and specific needs of the children, as well as any other unique factors. The court aims to determine a fair amount which is affordable for both the custodial and noncustodial parents, but not too low to help them cover childcare costs. You can get full details on the considerations and associated resources online. Besides, you can also find the copy of the basic child support guidelines on the same website. A child support calculator is also available in New Mexico for your reference.
Enforcement of Child Support Based on Calculator in New Mexico
The Child Support Enforcement Division oversees child support payments in administrative cases. There is a $250 fee to enforce child support payments after the establishment of the child support. CSED can take action to enforce payments if they payments are not on time or are insufficient. These actions include sending a notice letter to the parents notifying them of outstanding child support, suspending their driver’s license, suspending other professional or recreational licenses, placing an interest on bank accounts or property, denial passport applications, intercepting tax refunds, and many others. A bench warrant may be necessary in extreme cases. For more information, visit the Human Services Department page.