Last Updated on January 15, 2024 by Lori Pace
Parents of children have a responsibility for their child’s welfare and support. It’s important that both parents make significant contributions to the child’s education, even if they live apart. Child support laws in Nebraska help ensure that one parent does not bear the cost of raising a child.
The Process For Child Support After Divorce
The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) offers Nebraska child support. Custodial parents who desire to apply for child support services can apply online or print a form. For every $550 to the custodial parent, there’s a $35 service fee. This fee is exempt for parents who have received or are currently receiving Temporary Assistance For Needy Families (TANF). Parents must fill out the application form with their information as well as the details of the non-custodial parent who is requesting child support.
When filling out an application, the details of the child are also requirement. The application will require information about the noncustodial parent, such as the name, address, telephone number and employment status of the employer, race, height and details of the employer. Details of court orders for custodial parents would be a requirement if they already have one.
Information provided during the application will be used to locate the parent who is not listed and to serve a notice regarding child support. It is important to provide as much information as possible about the non-custodial parent in the application. A locator service will need the Social Security Number (SSN) of the parent.
The law presumes that the father of the child is the husband if the parents did marry at the time the child was born. If the parents did not marry, they may fill out and submit an Acknowledgement form of paternity to DHHS Vital Records Management. Parents may request a genetic test to determine the paternity and identity of their child. This test is usually conclusive in determining if the father of the child is male. However, the court order must legally establish that the father of the child is named. Parents who do not receive public assistance may have the requirement to pay the state for the cost of the test.
How To Receive Child Support in Nebraska
Two ways can custodial parents receive child support payments:
- Direct Deposit: Payments are electronically made into the checking or savings account of the custodial parent. Except for the usual account fees, there are no additional costs to the parent.
- Electronic Payment Card (EPC), also known as ReliaCard. It is a Visa debit credit card that parents can use to pay their child support payments electronically. Because the EPC has its own account, it eliminates the need to open a bank account for the parent. Parents can use the ReliaCard to separate child support expenses and regular account expenses.
For more information on the means of receiving child support payments, visit the Nebraska’s Government website.
The Maximum Amount That Your Family Can Receive
The court takes into account several factors when determining how much child support. The income of both parents is a major factor. This will give you a good idea of the financial status of both parents and to charge to noncustodial parents. Income may be imputed to parents who are either voluntarily unemployed or underemployed. The imputed income will then be used to calculate child support payments. Incarceration/imprisonment, however, does not count as voluntary unemployment. The number of children, healthcare costs, custodial arrangements (if split custody between parents), and other factors are all considered when establishing child support orders.
Although there is no maximum amount of child support, Nebraska law requires that a minimum child-support payment of $50. Visit Nebraska’s Supreme Court page for some of the details used in establishing the support order.
Enforcement of Child Support
Sometimes parents fail to pay child support payments. They may only pay a small amount or refuse to pay any. There are some actions to enforce compliance with child support orders. Many child support orders come with an Income Withholding Order (IWO) attached. This is an order to the employer of the noncustodial parents to withhold a certain percentage from the income of the parent not custodial. They use the percentage to settle child support obligations.
Parents who default on their child support obligations may have their licenses suspended or their passports revoked. Interceptions of tax refunds or lottery winnings may and reports sent to credit bureaus. This can affect the credit rating of the parent. They do these actions until the noncustodial parents settle their arrearage. Even if the child is no longer under the age of 18, any the noncustodial parent should still pay the outstanding child support.